Saturday, 30 June 2012


LOK SABHA: Maximum strength is 552 but Lok Sabha at present consists of 545 members.Both the Speaker and Deputy Speaker are its Presiding officers. The First Lok Sabha was constituted on 15 April 1952 after India's first general election.
RAJYA SABHA: Maximum strength is 250 but Actual strength is 254.Vice-President of India is the ex-officio chairman of Rajya Sabha. The First Rajya Sabha was constituted on  3 April 1952.
   MAIN FUNCTION OF BOTH HOUSES: The main function of both the Houses is to make laws. Every Bill has to be passed by both the Houses and assented to by the President before it becomes law.

Q1)The national anthem was written by

A.        Bankim Chandra Chatterjee
B.        Rabindranath Tagore
C.        Sarat Chandra Chatterjee
D.        Aurobindo Ghosh
Answer: B
Note: National Anthem of India is also called as MORNING SONG OF THE DAY.

Q2)The members of the Rajya Sabha are elected for a term

A.        of six years
B.        determined by the state legislative assembly of a state
C.        of four years
D.        None of the above
Answer: A

Q3)The members of Lok Sabha are

A.        directly elected by the people
B.        indirectly elected
C.        nominated
D.        partly elected and partly nominated
Answer: A
Q4)The president can advance money to meet unforeseen expenses, pending authorization by Parliament, from

A.        the Consolidated Fund of India
B.        the Contingency Fund
C.        both the above funds
D.        None of the above
Answer: B

Q5)The position of a chief minister is

A.        similar to that of the prime minister
B.        identical to that of the president
C.        a combination of the position of the prime minister and president
D.        not constitutional
Answer: A
Q6)The members of the standing committee are taken from the Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha in the ratio of

A.        two and one respectively
B.        three and one respectively
C.        four and one respectively
D.        equal members for both the Houses
Answer: A
Q7)The Nagaland State of India cannot be termed as a state because it lacks

A.        sovereignty
B.        bicameral legislature
C.        a high court exclusively of its own
D.        None of the above
Answer: A

Q8)The president can dismiss a member of the council of ministers

A.        on his own
B.        on the recommendation of the prime ministers
C.        only under emergency conditions
D.        with the consent of the speaker
Answer: B
Q9)The office of the prime minister of India

A.        has a constitutional basis
B.        has a statutory basis
C.        has conventional basis
D.        None of the above
Answer: A
Q10)The members of the parliamentary committee

A.        are appointed by the president in consultation with the prime minister
B.        are appointed by the president on the recommendation of the speaker
C.        are taken from various groups and parties in Parliament in proportion to their respective strength
D.        both (b) and (c)
Answer: C
Q11)The minimum number of members that must be present to hold the meeting of the Lok Sabha is

A.        one-fourth of the total membership
B.        one-tenth of the total membership of the Houses
C.        50 percent strength of the Lok Sabha
D.        at least 100 members
Answer: B
Q12)The power to prorogue the Lok Sabha rests with

A.        the speaker
B.        the president
C.        the prime minister
D.        the minister for parliamentary affairs
Answer: B

Q13)The oath of office is administered to the members of state council of ministers by

A.        the governor
B.        the chief minister
C.        chief justice of the state high court
D.        speaker of legislative assembly
Answer: A

Q14)The oath of office is administered to the Governor by the

A.        chief justice of India
B.        president
C.        chief justice of high court
D.        speaker of legislative assembly
Answer: C
Q15)The members of Parliament can express themselves in the House in

A.        English only
B.        Hindi only
C.        English or Hindi
D.        English, Hindi or mother tongue
Answer: D
Q16)The members of the committees of Parliament are

A.        nominated by the leaders of the various parties in the Parliament
B.        nominated by the prime minister
C.        appointed by the speaker or elected by the House from amongst persons who are not members of Parliament
D.        appointed by the speaker or elected by the House from amongst its own members
Answer: D
Q17)The position of the prime minister of India is superior to that of his counter-part in Britain because

A.        India is the biggest democracy
B.        India has adopted the federal system
C.        India has a written constitution
D.        his office enjoys constitutional basis
Answer: D
Q18)The president convenes and prorogues all sessions of Parliament in consultation with

A.        the speaker
B.        the prime minister
C.        the prime minister and the leader of the Opposition in Lok Sabha
D.        None of the above
Answer: B

Q19)The minimum age required to become a member of Rajya Sabha is

A.        21 years
B.        25 years
C.        30 years
D.        35 years
Answer: C
Q20)The name of the union given in the Constitution is

A.        Hindustan or Bharatavarsha
B.        India or Hindustan
C.        India or Bharat
D.        Bharatadesh or India
Answer: C

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

Subscribe Us By Email....It's FREE!